Breaking Pointe

Hello all! So I just recently (like today) finished a reality show called Breaking Pointe. It’s a show that follows the lives of ballet dancers in a professional ballet company. It shows their trials and triumphs and just gives you a look into the world of professional ballet. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed watching this show. As a dancer I knew being in a professional company would be hard but actually seeing it was an eye opening experience. I have such an appreciation and respect for ballet as an art form and ballet dancers as artists.

It was so great to see these dancers grow and mature from the beginning of season 1 to the end of season 2. It was really inspiring to see them struggle and then overcome the many obstacles they were faced with on a daily basis. It also gave me an idea of what my life would be like when I join a professional dance company. (I’m not sure if it will be a ballet company, but who knows)

I’m so glad this show was created because I think a lot of people think that being a dancer is easy. Here at school, people think that being a dance major is easy and that we don’t have to  work hard and THAT’S CRAP! Dance isn’t easy. We put our bodies through so much. We rehearse for months and for long hours just to be on stage for about 5 minutes. I hope that non-dancers watch this show and really see how difficult we have it sometimes. You see us dance on stage and yes it may look easy, but you have no idea the hard work and sacrifice (physically, emotionally, mentally, and your social life takes a hit too) that it took to get there. Breaking Pointe shows you all of that and for that reason I loved this show. I recommend it to everyone. If you want a glimpse into the life of a dancer WATCH THIS SHOW! I guarantee it will change your perception of us.

I’m really sad this show is over, but I’m happy that I was able to see it. It has inspired me to work hard this upcoming year and in the future because one day I want to be in a company dancing on a big stage for a sold out audience. I want to inspire the next generation and I want my dancing and/or my choreography to touch someone.

Enjoy the rest of your Tuesday!! Keith OUT!

Leave a Reply

